top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKiwi Jo

Rice for breakfast and more!

Rice for breakfast; living on the 14th floor; robot machines in food courts and 77c train trips have all been part of life on this trip so far. Here's the view from the lounge and my bedroom at night... Where we'd have a house and garden in NZ, Singapore has a high rise apartment with 100s of people living on that same sized piece of land...!

In NZ, the weather is one of the main topics of adult conversation (especially in rural areas!), but in Singapore, it's food! Seriously so - it's very cool - the variety is AMAZING! I thought I was having lunch at one point, only to find that it was my 'second breakfast'! I still had lunch to go... Check out my '2nd breakfast below'. Do a search on Singapore foods and see if you can find the name of what's here. One bun for example is called a Butterfly Bun.


Below - is the first dinner. A shared meal and in those little dishes are spices. I dared tried one and I was on the other end of a tissue fast as...! Watery eyes kicked in big time... I did not cope at all... But it was worth the try.


The really, really fascinating insight about dinner was the salad! See below...that's the salad. There was apple and cucumber in particular (and if you can research what else, I've got some edible prizes on had to dish out when back in NZ...! Just email me: jo.gibson@freshaz.co.nz or jo.gibson@learn-now.school.nz).

Massive apartment blocks have been one of my more favourite pastimes to tune in. Do the maths....There are apartment blocks that are 56 storeys high and if there are 4 apartments on each floor, with perhaps 4 people in them, how many in one high rise? Below is a small high rise - work out how many floors there seems to be...



When wandering around - it's amazing how much food there is to tune in... Amazing eh?



The top two images with green stringy items and corn are desserts!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page